Topic guides: Support for aged care staff: About

Gallery

Dementia Australia resources

Quality Dementia Care Initiative Action Plan 2022-23
The Quality Dementia Care Action Plan is a cross-sector commitment to those initiatives we believe will collectively improve quality care for people living with dementia, their families and carers. By bringing together the most significant influencers of quality care – and drivers of policy and program change – we are taking a collective view of some key activities we and others are undertaking to improve quality dementia care.

Dementia Service Guide
Publication Date: 2022

A resource for health care professionals who are key referral points for Dementia Australia. The guide provides high-level information about all the services we offer.
The Dementia Guide by Dementia Australia
Publication Date: 2024; edited 2025

For people living with dementia, their families and carers. The Dementia Guide is an important resource for any person impacted by any form of dementia, of any age. This resource contains information about the impact dementia may have on a person, the treatment, support and services they may need. It is available to read online, download as a pdf, listen to an audio version or request a print copy.
Quality care resources in the eCollection
View a compilation of resources covering the issues discussed in the Symposium series

Topics

Talking to someone with dementia
Losing the ability to communicate can be one of the most frustrating and difficult problems for people with dementia, their families and carers. As the illness progresses, a person with dementia experiences a gradual lessening of their ability to communicate. They find it more and more difficult to express themselves clearly and to understand what others say.

Select your language
Our dementia Help Sheets provide advice, common sense approaches and practical strategies on a wide range of subjects. These Help Sheets are available in more than 30 languages
A Creative Toolkit for Communication in Dementia Care by Karrie Marshall
How can carers and relatives support a person's identity, relationships and emotional wellbeing through changes that occur in the later stages of dementia? Marshall provides a toolkit of tried and tested creative activities to support communication and relationships. Activities are vast and varied, with outdoor activities such as bird-watching and star-gazing aimed at supporting physical health, artistic activities such as collage creation to support identity, and musical activities such as sounds and voice warm-ups to support self-expression..
Hearing the Person with Dementia by Bernie McCarthy
Publication Date: 2011

This book clearly explains what happens to communication as dementia progresses, how this may affect an individual's memory, language and senses, and how carers might need to adapt their approach as a result. Advocating a person-centred approach to dementia care, the author describes methods of verbal and non-verbal communication, techniques for communicating with people who can not speak or move easily, and strategies for communicating more effectively in specific day-to-day situations, including at mealtimes, whilst helping the person with dementia to bathe or dress, and whilst out and about.
Connecting the Dots by Judith London; Jane E. Brody
It can be frustrating and difficult it can be to communicate with a person with mid to late stage dementia.
But it's not impossible to maintain a real relationship with your friend or family member, even as his or her Alzheimer's advances.
Although there is no cure for Alzheimer's,this book will help you improve your loved one's quality of life.
The Validation Breakthrough by Naomi Feil; Vicki de Klerk-Rubin
Publication Date: 2014

Stories, ideas, directions, and information about the Validation Method and the respect, fulfillment, and human connections it creates. The Validation Breakthrough has helped thousands of professional and family caregivers improve their relationships with residents and loved ones with dementia.

How to support everyday decision-making for people living with dementia in residential aged care: a guide for care workers
This booklet has been written to help you understand why it is important for you to support people with dementia make everyday decisions. There are practical examples in this booklet of how to do this. All people want to be treated in a way that is consistent with their own wishes and preferences. People want to make decisions based on information they have been given and their personal experience where possible.

Bathing Without a Battle by Ann Louise Barrick
Presents an individualised, problem-solving approach to bathing and personal care of individuals with dementia.Includes strategies and techniques that work in both institution and home settings. Their approach is appropriate for caregiving activities other than bathing, such as morning and evening care, and for frail elders not suffering from dementia. topics include; Pain; Skin care; Determining the appropriate level of assistance; Transfers ;The environment

The Pocket Guide to Mouth and Dental Hygiene in Dementia Care by Daniel Nightingale
Publication Date: 2020

The dental needs of people living with dementia are often overlooked, particularly in the care home and hospital community. It is challenging to maintain good standards of oral care with people living with dementia, and poor care can increase the fear and anxiety levels of those living with dementia.
This pocket guide sets out tailored advice for supporting the oral and dental needs of people living with dementia. It sets out straightforward models on providing effective preventative mouth care, spotting symptoms and what to do when problems occur.
Providing Good Care at Night for Older People by Diana Kerr; Heather Wilkinson
The experiences and needs of residents and patients in nursing and care
homes are very different at night. This book provides knowledge and practical skills needed to deliver positive and appropriate care at night. The authors look at all of the issues that are particularly pertinent in caring for older people at night, including nutrition and hydration, continence, challenging behaviour, medication, night time checking, pain management and end of life care.

CLEAR Dementia Care© by Frances Duffy
Publication Date: 2019

The CLEAR Dementia Care© model is an effective method of assessing behaviour that challenges, through an understanding that such behaviour may be a way of communicating unmet needs. This book explains the many factors that contribute to challenging behaviour and how a greater understanding of this can enhance quality of life and lead to better care for the person with dementia in both hospital and residential settings.
Reducing the Symptoms of Alzheimer's Disease and Other Dementias by Jackie Pool
Publication Date: 2018

This innovative new book sets out practical guidance for people with dementia, their families and carers on reducing the symptoms of Alzheimer's disease and other dementias and shows how therapeutic cognitive rehabilitation techniques can be used to reduce symptoms of dementia and ultimately improve quality of life for people living with dementia. Covering topics such as nutrition, stress, communication, memory and sleep, it provides all the tools and information necessary to build a personalised and flexible self-care plan which will improve and sustain quality of life. By clearing away the myths and stigma surrounding dementia, this book creates room for cooperation, creativity and hope.
Teaching Empathy and Conflict Resolution to People with Dementia by Cameron Camp; Linda Camp
This guide for professional and family caregivers demonstrates how to facilitate positive relationships for peaceful living. By understanding the cognitive and physical challenges that older adults with dementia face, caregivers can practice empathic care that affords people with dementia increased freedom of expression and independence. Included here are techniques for conflict resolution that enable people with dementia to be active and self-initiating in times of distress and disruption. Looking at the basics of respect, empathy, and mindfulness, this book also provides hands-on training for employing these virtues in practice with a number of exercises to help achieve the goal of peaceful independent living.
The Validation Breakthrough by Naomi Feil; Vicki de Klerk-Rubin
Publication Date: 2014

Stories, ideas, directions, and information about the Validation Method and the respect, fulfillment, and human connections it creates. The Validation Breakthrough has helped thousands of professional and family caregivers improve their relationships with residents and loved ones with dementia.
Providing Good Care at Night for Older People by Diana Kerr; Heather Wilkinson
The experiences and needs of residents and patients in nursing and care
homes are very different at night. This book provides knowledge and practical skills needed to deliver positive and appropriate care at night. The authors look at all of the issues that are particularly pertinent in caring for older people at night, including nutrition and hydration, continence, challenging behaviour, medication, night time checking, pain management and end of life care.

Creative Care by Anne Basting
Publication Date: 2020

In Creative Care, Anne Basting lays the groundwork for a
widespread transformation in our approach to elder care and uses compelling, touching stories to inspire and guide us all—family, friends, and health professionals—in how to connect and interact with those living with dementia.
The Montessori Method for Connecting to People with Dementia by Tom Brenner; Karen Brenner
Publication Date: 2019

Drawing on 20 years of experience, Tom and Karen Brenner explain the philosophy of the Montessori method, provide clearly-written steps to follow when applying it, and share a wealth of case studies and stories from their personal work using this method with people with dementia. This includes reading circles, art programmes, drum circles, poetry, and video diaries. Supported by research of the importance of creativity and the arts in dementia care, it is made clear throughout how every aspect of the Montessori method can help those with dementia to rediscover the world around them, maximising the opportunities they have to reconnect with their peers, family, friends, and support staff.
Connecting Through Music with People with Dementia by Robin Rio
Publication Date: 2009

Music has long been a vital instrument in transcending cognitive issues; bringing people together, and allowing a person to live in the moment. Connecting though Music with People with Dementia explains how a caregiver can learn to use melody or rhythm to connect with someone who may be otherwise non-responsive, and how memories can be stimulated by music that resonates with a part of someone's past. This user-friendly book demonstrates how even simple sounds and movements can engage people with dementia, promoting relaxation and enjoyment. This accessible book reveals many useful techniques used in music therapy.
Living Well with Dementia Through Music by Catherine Edwards
Publication Date: 2020

This just released book has been inspired by the Music for dementia 2020 campaign and guides the reader through accessible activities with singing, percussion, sounding bowls and other musical tools demonstrating how music may can be used from the early to late stages of dementia.
Writing Life Histories by Robin Dynes
Publication Date: 2011

Writing Life Histories is a practical handbook which gives clear guidance on how to put together life histories in
supportive or residential settings.
Reminiscence and Life Story Work by Faith Gibson
Publication Date: 2011

This fully-updated fourth edition is full of practical information on planning and running successful reminiscence work. Topics covered include reminiscence with individuals and couples, inter-generational reminiscence, reminiscence with individuals from minority ethnic groups and reminiscence with people with sensory and learning disabilities, dementia, depression and terminal illness.
Creative Engagement: a handbook of activities for people with dementia by Rachael Wonderlin; Geri M. Lotze
Publication Date: 2020

Teaching caregivers how to find dementia-friendly daily activities and introduce them into a person's life, this comprehensive, empathetic guide is aimed at both family members and professionals. Twelve chapters full of useful, tangible activities touch on a range of topics, including exercise, technology, cooking and baking, memory games, and arts and crafts.

Quality care resources in the eCollection
View a compilation of resources around communication in dementia care

The Little Pocket Book of Meditation
The Little Pocket Book of Meditation Stephanie Brookes sweeps aside these out-dated stereotypes. Writing in a down-to-earth, accessible style, Stephanie shows us how to incorporate simple meditation techniques into our busy, non-stop lives. Over the years she has created bespoke meditation routines and developed a large inventory of meditations to suit a wide range of situations, including meditations for self-healing, meditations for relationships and meditations on the go. Packed with engaging insights on the benefits of meditation, this book will show you how even a short meditation can reduce stress, ease tension and set you on the path to inner peace.
The Happiness Trap by Russ Harris; Steven C. Hayes (Foreword by)
A guide to ACT: the revolutionary mindfulness-based program for reducing stress, overcoming fear, and finding fulfilment.
Popular ideas about happiness are misleading, inaccurate, and are directly contributing to our current epidemic of stress, anxiety and depression. And unfortunately, popular psychological approaches are making it even worse!
In this easy-to-read, practical and empowering self-help book,
The Reality Slap by Russ Harris
The 'reality slap' takes many different forms. Sometimes it is so violent it's more like a punch: the death of a loved one, a serious illness, a major injury, a freak accident, a shocking crime, a disabled child, the loss of a job; bankruptcy, betrayal, fire, flood, divorce or disaster. Sometimes it's a little gentler: envy, loneliness, resentment, failure, disappointment or rejection. But whatever form it takes, one thing's for sure: it hurts! And most of us don't deal with the pain very well. This book is based on a scientifically proven mindfulness-based approach called 'Acceptance and Commitment Therapy' (ACT). Using the proven principles of ACT, you'll discover how to: • find peace in the midst of your pain • find calm in the midst of your chaos • anchor yourself in the midst of emotional storms • increase your sense of connection with yourself and others • use your painful emotions to cultivate wisdom and compassion • find fulfilment even when you can't get what you want • heal your wounds, and come through stronger than before.
The Mindful Self-Compassion Workbook by Kristin Neff; Christopher Germer
Publication Date: 2018

Are you kinder to others than you are to yourself? This science-based workbook offers a step-by-step approach to breaking free of harsh self-judgments and impossible standards in order to cultivate emotional well-being. It is packed with guided meditations; informal practices to do anytime, anywhere; exercises; and vivid stories of people using the techniques to address relationship stress, weight and body image issues, health concerns, anxiety, and other common problems.

Personal interventions - Staff Burnout / ARIIA
Burnout is an individual reaction in response to high job demands and low job resources. Individuals who are burnt out exhibit high levels of emotional exhaustion, depersonalisation, and low levels of accomplishment. Aged care workers are especially at risk in developing burnout due to the chronic stressors of their work, which can negatively affect the quality of work performance. Personal interventions attempt to increase aged careworker’s psychological resources to cope with workplace stressors.

Dementia care resources in the eCollection
View further resources in our eCollection

Further learning

Visit the Centre for Dementia Learning for further information about online education, consultancy services and our dementia Community of practice.

Join the library

To borrow any resources please join the library.

For library information and support please contact library@dementia.org.au or call 03 9816 5790