Library guides: Reminiscence and life story work: Content

Gallery

Dementia Australia resources

I believe in the magic of it : Creative arts engagement, wellbeing and dementia by Dementia Australia
Publication Date: 2023
This discussion paper explores how engaging people living with dementia in the creative arts can improve their wellbeing. Exploring the psychosocial approaches to support the wellbeing of people living with dementia. Including creative arts, community-based creativity, culture and country, music and dance, reminiscence and storytelling.

Books

Reminiscence and Life Story Work by Faith Gibson
Publication Date: 2011
This fully-updated fourth edition is full of practical information on planning and running successful reminiscence work. Topics covered include reminiscence with individuals and couples, inter-generational reminiscence, reminiscence with individuals from minority ethnic groups and reminiscence with people with sensory and learning disabilities, dementia, depression and terminal illness.
Writing Life Histories by Robin Dynes
Publication Date: 2011
Writing Life Histories is a practical handbook which gives clear guidance on how to put together life histories in
supportive or residential settings.
Life Story Work with People with Dementia by Polly Kaiser (Editor)
Publication Date: 2016
This evidence-based book explains the many benefits of life story work, with practical guidance for introducing it in a variety of settings. The authors show how life story work can empower people with dementia to inform care practitioners and family members what care and support they may need now and in the future, by taking into account their past and their future wishes and aspirations. The book includes practical information on how to get started, ethical considerations such as consent and confidentiality, and considers issues of diversity and how to address them.
International Perspectives on Reminiscence, Life Review and Life Story Work by Faith Gibson (Editor)
Publication Date: 2018
Examining recent research and practice on reminiscence, life review and life story work, this book offers critical accounts of the rapidly growing and extensive global literature, and highlights the continuing relevance and effectiveness of these therapeutic methods.
The Handbook of Structured Life Review by Barbara K. Haight; Barrett S. Haight
Publication Date: 2007
Structured Life Review is a one-on-one therapeutic technique that guides people in reflecting on their lives from early childhood to the present. This approach allows individuals to learn from past experiences, settle unresolved issues, and ultimately achieve a state of life acceptance. Participants benefit from increased life satisfaction, reduced depression, and the opportunity for reconciliation, acceptance, and serenity.
Memories are made of this: Reminiscence activities for person-centred care by Alzheimer's Society
Publication Date: 2009
Memories are made of this provides a complete resource that contains ideas and suggestions, templates and handy hints for simple ways to use reminiscence in a wide variety of different situations. This includes activities with individuals, large groups and in a range of care settings.
The Multi-Sensory Reminiscence Activity Book by Sarah Mousley; Sophie Jopling
Publication Date: 2017
Developed to be suitable for people with a variety of abilities, including for those with dementia, and help to support memory, sensory function, confidence, communication, connection, as well as overall physical and emotional wellbeing. Activities range from cognitive activities such as word games, food tasting, music and poetry to group discussions.

Video content

Swinburne Webinar from their ‘Series on Ageing’: Sunil Barr on Reminiscence Therapy :
Swinburne Commons | Swinburne University of Technology

Websites and resources

Creating a life story for a person with dementia / Dementia UK
This website provides templates, guidance and also discusses the benefits and research relevant to creating a life story book
Memory Book Template and instructions - Gail Elliot
In a memory book photos and descriptions provide the details that a person with dementia often forgets. This template enables you to create a memory book.
Reminiscing Story Cards - COTA
With time to reminisce and a bit of prompting, we all have stories to tell. Reminiscing in a supportive environment and with a focus on strengths and positives can lift an older person’s mood, reminding them – and their support workers – of their resourcefulness and depth of experience.
Caregiver’s Guide to Creating Memory and Communication Supports for People with Dementia (2022)
By Alyssa M. Lanzi, P and Michelle Bourgeois
Outlined in this free, family-friendly guide are the information and resources for developing individualized memory books and reminder cards to enhance the language and memory skills of your loved one. Each chapter guides you through the process of selecting, designing, and using memory supports for different purposes.
Life Story Work / Age UK Sheffield
This page has top tips and resources to help you learn more about a person with dementia’s life story.

Journal articles and papers

Life Story Book to enhance communication in persons with dementia: A systematic review of reviews (2023)
This systematic literature review aimed to collect past reviews and provide a thorough overview of the use, benefits, and impact of the Life Story Book for the person with dementia, the relatives, family, and caregivers. The electronic databases PubMed, Scopus, Science Direct and Web of Science as well as grey literature through Google Scholar were searched to select the relevant studies. Seven studies that meet the inclusion criteria were selected and data synthesised.
Subramaniam P, Thillainathan P, Mat Ghani NA, Sharma S.(2023) Life Story Book to enhance communication in persons with dementia: A systematic review of reviews. PLoS One;18(10):e0291620
Exploring good practice in life story work with people with dementia (2020)
Looks at nine key features of good practice that could be used to guide the life story work process. Key elements include the recognition that not everyone will want to take part in life story work and that some people may even find it distressing; the importance of being led by the person with dementia themselves; the need for training and support for staff, carers and volunteers; and the potential for life story work to celebrate the person’s life today and look to the future.
Gridley, K., Birks, Y., & Parker, G. (2020). Exploring good practice in life story work with people with dementia: The findings of a qualitative study looking at the multiple views of stakeholders. Dementia, 19(2), 182–194. https://doi.org/10.1177/1471301218768921
‘Now He Sings’. The My Musical Memories Reminiscence Programme: Personalised Interactive Reminiscence Sessions for People Living with Dementia (2019)
Evans, S. C., Garabedian, C., & Bray, J. (2019). ‘Now He Sings’. The My Musical Memories Reminiscence Programme: Personalised Interactive Reminiscence Sessions for People Living with Dementia. Dementia, 18(3), 1181–1198
Using Reminiscence with People with Dementia in Sub-Acute & Acute Care (2017)
Admission to hospital can be confusing and frightening for a person with dementia as they struggle to understand what is happening and where they are. Reminiscence provides a practical and easy to use approach that enables family, carers and staff to engage more
meaningfully with the person with dementia. This manual provides practical information that staff and volunteers can use to adopt and implement reminiscence within everyday care of people with dementia who are hospitalised.
Life Writing and Dementia Care: A Project to Assist those ‘with Dementia’ to Tell their Stories (2016)
This essay describes the first phase of a project in which life writing is used as a form of person-centred care for people who have, or appear to have, dementia.
Richard Freadman & Paula Bain (2016) Life Writing and Dementia Care: A Project to Assist those ‘with Dementia’ to Tell their Stories, Life Writing, 13:1, 105-126