Mild Cognitive Impairment (MCI)

• Mild cognitive impairment: webinar

  In this webinar Michael Woodward discusses mild cognitive impairment. He covers the latest information about early diagnosis, treatment options and how to reduce the risk of developing dementia. -Why early diagnosis is important -The difference between mild cognitive impairment and dementia -Suggestions for maintaining wellbeing.

• 

  Medication in Dementia and Mild Cognitive Impairment: webinar

  In this webinar, Associate Professor Michael Woodward discusses medications used to treat dementia and mild cognitive impairment (MCI). Michael will explain the importance of managing medications, and recent developments in research.

• Mild Cognitive Impairment (MCI) by Dementia Australia

  Some people experience changes in memory and other cognitive (thinking) functions greater than that usually experienced with ageing, but without other signs of dementia. This is called Mild Cognitive Impairment (MCI). This sheet provides information about what MCI is and what it means to be told that you have MCI.

• 

  BrainTrack App

  BrainTrack is a free app developed by Dementia Australia that helps you monitor and understand changes in cognition over time, which you can use to start a conversation with your GP. The app will provide brain health information through fun, travel-themed games that test your cognition. The resulting conversation and monitoring may lead to an earlier diagnosis of dementia.

• 

  Worried About Your Memory? Your guide to understanding memory loss by Dementia Australia (2025)

  Many of us have concerns about our memory, especially as we age. This booklet provides an overview of how memory works and what changes may occur as we age. While some memory changes can be a normal part of aging, major changes in memory are not. If you or someone you know is experiencing memory difficulties, start by talking to your doctor. This booklet covers the following topics: About the brain; How memory works; What happens to memory as we age?; What causes memory problems?; Strategies for improving memory; When you should be concerned; Memory concerns checklist; What you should ask your doctor; Common memory disorders; Ten signs of dementia; and Healthy brain, healthy Life.
• 

  Healthy Brain, Healthy Life: How to reduce your risk of developing dementia by Dementia Australia(2025)

  Keeping your brain healthy is essential for living a fulfilling, healthy and long life. In fact, scientific research suggests that a brain healthy lifestyle can reduce your risk of developing dementia later in life. Whether you are old, young or in-between, there are simple changes you can make to improve and protect your brain health. This book will help you get started in making changes to support your health. This booklet covers the following topics: Reducing your risk of dementia; Looking after your heart; Looking after your body; Increase physical activity; Maintain a healthy, balanced diet; Maintain healthy sleep patterns; Check your hearing and other senses; Protect your head; Looking after your mind; Creating and maintaining healthy habits; and What to do if you are worried.

• Living with Mild Cognitive Impairment: A guide to maximizing brain health and reducing risk of dementia by Nicole D. Anderson; Kelly J. Murphy; Angela K. Troyer

  Publication Date: 2024

  Written by three clinicians and scientists who have years of experience working with people with MCI, this new edition provides up-to-date and reliable information based on the science of MCI. In short, digestible, MCI-friendly chapters, the authors explain how MCI is diagnosed and treated, and they provide information on how to improve cognitive health through healthy eating, exercise, and social and cognitive engagement. The book also provides practical and effective memory strategies, using patient stories to illustrate the real-life issues facing people living with MCI.
• Dodging Dementia: Understanding MCI and other risk factors: of The Essential Guide to Avoiding Dementia by Mary Jordan

  ISBN: 9781781612439

  Publication Date: 2024

  If you have concerns about you or a loved one developing dementia, Mary Jordan guides you through how to assess your personal risk and the many things you can do to mitigate that risk based on the latest evidence. Whether you have a close relative with dementia, a history of high-risk factors for this condition, or a diagnosis of MCI (mild cognitive impairment) you may be concerned to know how personally 'at risk' you or a loved one is, and what you can do to 'dodge' what is definitely not inevitable. In this second edition of her highly regarded Essential Guide to Avoiding Dementia, Mary Jordan guides readers through the many factors associated with developing dementia and the science behind our current understanding, including: diet, exercise, trauma, pharmaceuticals (contributed by Dr Jerry Thompson), genetics, social isolation, sleep, neurological deficits such as hearing loss, insulin resistance and diabetes type 2. Based on her professional and personal experience, Mary offers a programme from which the individual reader can choose what works for them and their individual risks and circumstances with the emphasis on what is practically rather than theoretically possible.
• Coping with Mild Cognitive Impairment (MCI) by Mary Jordan

  Publication Date: 2020

  Adults are being increasingly diagnosed with Mild Cognitive Impairment (MCI), and this book provides strategies for concerned individuals to help slow the onset of the condition. Around 50% of adults with MCI go on to develop dementia, but research shows that self-help through early intervention and preventative measures can hugely slow this down.
• Mild Cognitive Impairment by Holly A. Tuokko (Editor); David F. Hultsch (Editor)

  Publication Date: 2020

  This foundational text includes a new preface from Holly A. Tuokko, examining how the field of Mild Cognitive Impairment (MCI) has developed since first publication. Bringing together research from multiple studies and perspectives from various countries, the volume identifies MCI as an important clinical transition between normal aging and the early stages of Alzheimer's disease (AD).
• The Way Forward Living with Mild Cognitive Impairment by Emory’s Brain Health Center

  Publication Date: 2019

  This resource guide was written primarily for the person diagnosed with MCI, but is also used as a guide for care partners. It includes information about the diagnosis, how to manage symptoms, emotional and practical coping strategies, and planning for the future, among other topics.
• The MIND Diet by Maggie Moon

  Publication Date: 2016

  Enjoying a high quality of life means taking care of your brain as much as your body. And research suggests that what you eat today will help (or hurt) your cognitive abilities later. The MIND Diet explains the science behind mental fitness in an approachable and understandable way. More importantly, this helpful guide presents an easy-to-follow program for keeping your mind sharp by eating the right foods and avoiding brain-harming ones. Packed with dishes that are not only delicious but also help improve memory, concentration and mental acuity, and includes healthy recipes.
• Until My Memory Fails Me: Mindfulness Practices for Cultivating Resilience and Self-Compassion in the Face of Cognitive Decline by Sharon Lukert

  Publication Date: 2025

  Lukert offers specific ways to build resilience against the emotional swings and existential fear inherent in cognitive decline. The book includes: instructions for more than a dozen mindfulness and meditation exercises; practical advice on topics like understanding your diagnosis, how to talk to your medical providers, testing, dealing with bias, how to maintain communication, and managing new symptoms; and stories, advice, and encouragement from her peers in the MCI community and her “dementia ancestors,” those she worked with in her decades as a Buddhist chaplain in healthcare settings.

• Mild cognitive impairment and dementia: detection and diagnosis (2024)

  Yates, M., Daly, S., Long, M., Dimity Pond, C., Brodaty, H., Gibson, C., & Low, L.-F. (2024). Mild cognitive impairment and dementia: detection and diagnosis. Medicine Today, 25(5), 20–24.
• Dementia prevention, intervention, and care: 2024 report of the Lancet standing Commission (2024)

  The 2024 update of the Lancet Commission on dementia provides new hopeful evidence about dementia prevention, intervention, and care. As people live longer, the number of people who live with dementia continues to rise, even as the age-specific incidence decreases in high-income countries, emphasising the need to identify and implement prevention approaches. We have summarised the new research since the 2020 report of the Lancet Commission on dementia, prioritising systematic reviews and meta-analyses and triangulating findings from different studies showing how cognitive and physical reserve develop across the life course and how reducing vascular damage (eg, by reducing smoking and treating high blood pressure) is likely to have contributed to a reduction in age-related dementia incidence. Evidence is increasing and is now stronger than before that tackling the many risk factors for dementia that we modelled previously (ie, less education, hearing loss, hypertension, smoking, obesity, depression, physical inactivity, diabetes, excessive alcohol consumption, traumatic brain injury , air pollution, and social isolation) reduces the risk of developing dementia. In this report, we add the new compelling evidence that untreated vision loss and high LDL cholesterol are risk factors for dementia.
  Livingston, G., [et al] (2024). Dementia prevention, intervention, and care: 2024 report of the Lancet standing Commission. The Lancet, Volume 404, Issue 10452, 572 - 628
• “I guess you can interpret it in a number of ways like kind of a milder or the mildest form of dementia?”: Multi-stakeholder perceptions of cognitive impairment (2023)

  The results of this study highlight key areas for future public health initiatives, such as a focus on the multitude of benefits offered by adopting a healthy diet and physical exercise in reducing risk of cognitive impairment.
  Yemm H, Peel E, Brooker D. “I guess you can interpret it in a number of ways like kind of a milder or the mildest form of dementia?”: Multi-stakeholder perceptions of cognitive impairment. Dementia. 2023;22(8):1799-1818.
• Nationally Informed Recommendations on Approaching the Detection, Assessment, and Management of Mild Cognitive Impairment (2022)

  Abstract
  Prior to the usual clinical symptoms of dementia, there can be subtle changes in cognitive function that differ from the normal age-related cognitive decline, which has been termed mild cognitive impairment (MCI). The increase in the numbers of individuals with possible MCI presenting to health care professionals, notably, General Practitioners (GPs), is going to rise dramatically in the coming years. With ever increasing demands on GPs, it is therefore timely to provide information that can be accessed by health care professionals to assist them in making appropriate diagnoses and to provide the most relevant, evidence-based treatment options. We have provided a comprehensive list of recommendations that aim to address key aspects of MCI in primary care. Specifically, these relate to detection and diagnosis; sharing the diagnosis, monitoring, and follow up; practical interventions to potentially delay progression; and personalizing care-planning, engagement, and patient motivation for the long term.
  Woodward, M., Brodaty, H., McCabe, M., Masters, C. L., Naismith, S. L., Morris, P., Rowe, C. C., Walker, P., & Yates, M. (2022). Nationally Informed Recommendations on Approaching the Detection, Assessment, and Management of Mild Cognitive Impairment. Journal of Alzheimer's disease : JAD, 89(3), 803–809.

• MIND Diet, Common Brain Pathologies, and Cognition in Community-Dwelling Older Adults

  MIND diet is associated with better cognitive functioning independently of common brain pathology, suggesting that the MIND diet may contribute to cognitive resilience in the elderly.

• You’ve got a friend in me: can social engagement mediate the relationship between mood and MCI? (2017)

  Social networks can change with age, for reasons that are adaptive or unwanted. A larger social network is beneficial to both mental health and cognition. Consequently this study explored this association and assessed the mediation of the relationship between mild cognitive impairment (MCI) and mood problems by social network size.
  Yates, J. A., Clare, L., & Woods, B. (2017). You’ve got a friend in me: can social engagement mediate the relationship between mood and mci? Innovation in Aging, 1(Suppl 1), 1179.
• 

  Physical Activity Guidelines for Older Australians with Mild Cognitive Impairment or Subjective Cognitive Decline booklet

  1. Older adults who have MCI or SCD should participate in aerobic PA of moderate intensity for at least a total of 150 minutes per week, or vigorous intensity for at least a total of 90 minutes per week. This recommendation is in addition to incidental light intensity activities of daily living.
  2. In addition to aerobic PA, older adults with MCI or SCD should engage in progressive resistance training (PRT) activities on at least two days per week. This is in addition to continuing incidental activities that help with strength.

  more... less...

  3. Older adults with MCI or SCD should engage in activities that help to improve or maintain balance. This is particularly important, as older adults with MCI or SCD often have poorer balance and mobility as well as an increased falls risk, compared to older adults without MCI or SCD.
  4. PA and exercise should be individually tailored, with consideration given to factors such as health problems, physical capacity and environment. Older adults with MCI or SCD are advised to consult with their healthcare professional for advice before x | Page undertaking PA and exercise.

• 

  What is mild cognitive impairment? by Alzheimer's Research UK

  This introductory leaflet aims to help you understand mild cognitive impairment. It’s for anyone who might be worried about their own or someone else’s memory.