Content - Dementia - Living with a recent diagnosis - Library guides at Dementia Australia Library Service

Gallery

Dementia Australia resources

The Dementia Guide by Dementia Australia
Publication Date: 2022
For people living with dementia, their families and carers. The Dementia Guide is an important resource for any person impacted by any form of dementia, of any age. The Guide contains information about the impact dementia may have on a person, the treatment, support and services they may need.
The 4th edition of this guide is now available to read online, download a pdf, listen to an audio version or request a print copy.

Understanding Capacity and Decision Making
In this video Margaret Crothers, Manager of Advocacy and Regional Services at Seniors Rights Service, discusses what capacity and supported decision making means, what advocates do, and how they may assist you. Margaret is joined by Halil Ozbeyazli, Aged Care Advocate at Seniors Rights Service, sharing some different case scenarios which illustrate the work of an aged advocate in helping older peoples' voices be heard.
Driving and dementia presented by Doctor Theresa Scott
In this video we are joined by Doctor Theresa Scott, discussing some of the challenges of driving cessation for people living with dementia. Theresa provides strategies to help prepare for changes in driving status, information about balancing safety and independence, and provides valuable advice from research with people living with dementia and their families. You will gain knowledge in: how early planning for eventual driving retirement can be empowering, how talking about the meaning of driving and the loss of driving is an important part of adjustment and what a medical assessment of driving may look like and your legal responsibilities.

If you have been diagnosed with dementia you may find the following information helpful:

Engage, enable, empower by Dementia Australia
Tips and stories to support a good quality of life with dementia. Exploring how small changes to lifestyle can lead to better health and well being.
Dementia language guidelines
How to promote the consistent use of appropriate, inclusive and non stigmatising language when talking or writing about dementia and people living with dementia.

Family and friends matter
The Family and friends matter booklet reinforces the importance of family, friendship and social connection for people with dementia and provides strategies and ideas to help an individual engage and maintain their relationship with a family member or friend who has developed dementia.

Books

What I wish people knew about dementia by Wendy Mitchell
Publication Date: 2022
When Wendy Mitchell was diagnosed with young-onset dementia at the age of fifty-eight, her brain was overwhelmed with images of the last stages of the disease - those familiar tropes, shortcuts and clichés that we are fed by the media, or even our own health professionals. But her diagnosis far from represented the end of her life. Instead, it was the start of a very different one. Wise, practical and life affirming, What I Wish People Knew About Dementia combines anecdotes, research and Wendy Mitchell's own brilliant wit and wisdom to tell readers exactly what she wishes they knew about dementia.
Living Your Best with Early-Stage Alzheimer's by Lisa Snyder
Publication Date: 2011
Provides a thorough, practical guide on coping with the diagnosis, managing symptoms, finding meaningful activity, planning for the future, maintaining important relationships, participating in research, and much more. This book is a working guide to help the person with Alzheimer's feel empowered to move forward in life in light of this challenging diagnosis.
Diagnosed with alzheimer's or another dementia by Kate Swaffer & Lee-Fay Low
Publication Date: 2016
This book explains the stages and symptoms of dementia, how it affects the brain, and how it affects the person and their families. It is a comprehensive guide to understanding and living with dementia - what to expect, what services may be required, how to cope with day to day challenges, etc. It describes current treatments and ongoing medical research, and will include first hand experience from people diagnosed with dementia, and will talk about what it is like living with Dementia.
Talking Sense
In each chapter, we briefly describe the senses, the impact of ageing and the impact of dementia. Then we address the sensory problems that can occur. We cover the implications of environmental design and interior finishes with some tips on self-management for the person with dementia and advice for families and care partners. Throughout the book we include the experiences of people living with dementia. Later in the book we provide details of support and advice organisations and there is a ‘Further reading’ section featuring references (endnotes) from throughout the book.
Alzheimer's from the Inside Out by Richard Taylor
Publication Date: 2015
Diagnosed at age 58, psychologist Richard Taylor shares a revealing account of his slow transformation and deterioration over a 6-year period after his diagnosis. With remarkable clarity and candour, Taylor gives voice to the thoughts, fears, and desires of all people with Alzheimer's disease and offers valuable insights for their caregivers. More than 80 brief essays and vignettes poignantly address issues faced by those with Alzheimer's disease, including loss of independence and personhood, communication difficulties with caregivers, and never-ending uncertainty about the future.

Lived experience of dementia in the eCollection

Websites

Forward With Dementia website
This website gives people living with dementia and carers answers and practical actions to take after a dementia diagnosis.
This website was developed by people living with dementia, carers, clinicians and researchers. It will help you to better understand the diagnosis, come to terms with your feelings, and manage symptoms and changes. You can find practical information on driving, (or giving up driving), improving your physical and emotional health, how to get support and make plans for the future. Topics are tailored for people with dementia and carers, and pages and tools are downloadable and printable. There are a range of resources, links to other reputable websites, news items, and stories from other people and carers who have lived through the challenges of a dementia diagnosis but continue to live full and meaningful lives. A diagnosis is not the end, it is the first step in moving forward with dementia.
Diagnosis, treatment and care for people with dementia
A consumer companion guide to the Clinical Practice Guidelines and principles of care for people with dementia.
Dementia Alliance International
Dementia Alliance International is a registered non-profit organisation whose membership is exclusively for people with a medically confirmed diagnosis of any type of a dementia from all around the world . We seek to represent, support, and educate others living with the disease, and the wider dementia community. We are an organization that strives to provide a unified voice of strength, advocacy and support for our rights, individual autonomy and improved quality of life.
Dementia and Me BBC Radio Podcasts
Titles include:
• "It wasn't funny at the time" Reactions to a dementia diagnosis, and what it's like to tell people you have it.
• "Who's looking after you?" Does your cultural background affect your understanding of dementia?
• "Dementia isn't a mental health condition" Is there anything you can do to reduce your risk of getting dementia?
• "What's my reality? What's your reality?" How technology can help your life if you have dementia
and many more...
Dementia Tip-Share
If you want to learn from and share with others ‘in the same boat’ the Tip-Share website is worth visiting. It offers Tips, work-arounds and short cuts all contributed by people with dementia themselves. The website aims to be clear, easy to use, searchable and informative.
Dementia Enabling Environments / Alzheimer’s Western Australia
The Dementia Enabling Environment Virtual Information Centre provides practical tips, guides and resources to help make the places where we live more dementia enabling.
It can help you develop an enabling environment for a person living with dementia, making a significant difference to their independence, quality of life and wellbeing.

Video and podcasts

Talking Dementia with Heckle & Jeckle
Heckle and Jeckle are two Mental Health professionals diagnosed with Younger Onset Dementia. They are funny, serious and smart as they explore all facets of daily life living with this baffling and challenging disease.
Let's Talk About: Brain health and living well with dementia
Dr. Helena Dolphin Specialist Registrar in Geriatric Medicine and Graham Knight, Clinical Nurse Manager talk about the risk factors associated with dementia and the important things that you can do to bolster the brains ability to protect a person who has dementia. The contributors also talk about the anxiety that can come with a diagnosis of dementia for a person and their loved ones, practical things you can do to help protect the brain and changes you can make to keep a loved one safe.