Topic guides: Changes in Behaviour: Content

Gallery

Dementia Australia resources

The 6Rs Response for distressing reactions
Remain calm - Respond to their feelings - Reassure the person - Remove yourself momentarily (if appropriate) - return later - Re-engage with the person
The 5Ds for Distressing Situations
Defuse - Delay - Divert (or Distract) - Depart - Detach

The impact of childhood trauma on a person living with dementia
In this video we are joined by Doctor Monica Cations (psychologist and Senior Research Fellow at Flinders University) and Meg Schwarz (project coordinator for older Forgotten Australians at Helping Hand Aged Care), discussing how the impacts of psychologically traumatic events can continue into late life and affect the experiences of a person with dementia. They also cover strategies for people with dementia and their care partners to manage the ongoing effects of traumatic stress and maintain a sense of safety and autonomy.

Books

Understanding Behaviour in Dementia That Challenges, Second Edition by Ian Andrew James
Publication Date: 2017
With a particular emphasis on non-pharmacological approaches, this book details the range of behaviours common in individuals with dementia, along with the most effective assessment and treatment techniques for health care professionals.
A Caregiver's Guide to Dementia by Laura N. Gitlin and Catherine Verrier Piersol
Publication Date: 2014
The strategies featured in this guide have been used by the authors in their research studies and reflect approaches and techniques that families have found to be most helpful to understand and effectively respond to the changes brought about by dementia.
Responsive Dementia Care by Helen Buell Whitworth; James A. Whitworth
Publication Date: 2018
Dementia-related behaviors are common with all types of dementia but often start early with Lewy body dementia (LBD). Most experts recommend the use of non-drug options prior to resorting to behavior management drugs which, especially with LBD, can and often does cause other problems. Responsive dementia care is a method for doing this. It uses understanding of how the brain works coupled with empathy, acceptance and a wide variety of alternative therapies to avoid, decrease and/or defuse these difficult behaviors.
Reducing the Symptoms of Alzheimer's Disease and Other Dementias by Jackie Pool
Publication Date: 2018
This innovative new book sets out practical guidance for people with dementia, their families and carers on reducing the symptoms of Alzheimer's disease and other dementias and shows how therapeutic cognitive rehabilitation techniques can be used to reduce symptoms of dementia and ultimately improve quality of life for people living with dementia. Covering topics such as nutrition, stress, communication, memory and sleep, it provides all the tools and information necessary to build a personalised and flexible self-care plan which will improve and sustain quality of life. By clearing away the myths and stigma surrounding dementia, this book creates room for cooperation, creativity and hope.
Teaching Empathy and Conflict Resolution to People with Dementia by Cameron Camp; Linda Camp
This guide for professional and family caregivers demonstrates how to facilitate positive relationships for peaceful living. By understanding the cognitive and physical challenges that older adults with dementia face, caregivers can practice empathic care that affords people with dementia increased freedom of expression and independence. Included here are techniques for conflict resolution that enable people with dementia to be active and self-initiating in times of distress and disruption. Looking at the basics of respect, empathy, and mindfulness, this book also provides hands-on training for employing these virtues in practice with a number of exercises to help achieve the goal of peaceful independent living.
The Validation Breakthrough by Naomi Feil; Vicki de Klerk-Rubin
Publication Date: 2014
Stories, ideas, directions, and information about the Validation Method and the respect, fulfillment, and human connections it creates. The Validation Breakthrough has helped thousands of professional and family caregivers improve their relationships with residents and loved ones with dementia.
When Reasoning No Longer Works by Angel Smits; Randall J. Bjork (Foreword by); Derek Botten (Narrated by)
Publication Date: 2019
Written by a Gerontologist with more than 20 years of experience, this gives the reader an easy to understand view of what dementia does to the brain, how it is diagnosed, and most importantly, how to deal with its effects. Bulleted lists clearly explain: How to avoid a catastrophic reaction ; Specific approaches for aggressive behavior ; How to deal with disruptive behaviors ; Ways to diminish wandering ; What to do when a wanderer is missing ; When to look for outside help
A Guide for Family Carers: Dealing with Behaviours in People with Dementia
Publication Date: 2014
This guide is for family carers providing care for a person with dementia. It includes practical information about how to support a person experiencing behaviours and psychological symptoms of dementia.
BPSD Textbook: Addressing behavioural and psychological symptoms of dementia by Colm Cunningham and Madeleine Healy
Publication Date: 2024
Improve understanding and support for people experiencing behaviours and psychological symptoms of dementia. From laying a foundation of the types of dementia, the BPSD Textbook addresses holistic assessment, understanding causes of changes in behaviour, issues of care, medical effects, the role of medication, and the importance of individually tailored psychosocial interventions. Meeting the need for a high-quality, comprehensive educational text addressing BPSD, this book is ideal for the aged care workforce, allied health professionals and registered nurses seeking to develop their knowledge and inform their practice.

Apps

CareForDementia - Apple

CareForDementia - App on Google Play

This App was developed to provide information and support for carers in their role of caring for persons with behavioural changes that can occur in dementia. Information on what these behaviours look like, why they might be happening and what you can do to help is included for those most commonly reported by carers. Understanding why behavioural changes are occurring can help to manage the behaviour.

Compatible with smartphone and tablet, this app is part of suite of resources based on the DBMAS Behaviour Management – A Guide to Good Practice: Managing Behavioural and Psychological Symptoms of Dementia.

A Clinician’s BPSD Guide App

An app developed to provide guidance for clinicians in their role of assisting residential aged care facility staff, community care staff and family members caring for persons living with dementia, who present with behavioural and psychological symptoms.

The content of this app is based on the document A clinician’s BPSD guide: Understanding and helping people experiencing changed behaviours and psychological symptoms associated with dementia (Clinician’s BPSD Guide, 2023)

A Clinician’s BPSD Guide - Apps on Google Play

A Clinician’s BPSD Guide on the App Store (apple.com)

Ask Annie
Ask Annie is a mobile education app that helps home and community support workers provide better support to people living with dementia

Video content

Websites

Understanding changed behaviours / Dementia Support Australia
Many people with dementia experience changes in behaviour. Understanding the causes of changes can help you respond and care well for them. Includes short videos on the most common changes in behaviour.
Dementia Behaviour Management Advisory Services
The Dementia Behaviour Management Advisory Services (DBMAS) provides clinical support for people caring for someone with dementia who is demonstrating behavioural and psychological symptoms of dementia (BPSD) which are impacting on their care. The role of the DBMAS program is to improve the quality of life of people with dementia, their carers and families, where the behaviour of the person with dementia impacts on their care. This is achieved through the provision of education, assessment and short-term case management, clinical supervision and monitoring, and modelling of behavioural management techniques.

Journal articles

CAUSEd: effective problem solving to support well-being
The CAUSEd problem-solving tool is designed to help carers shift focus from seeing behaviours as 'difficult' or 'challenging' and understand how physical and social environments contribute to responsive behaviours. Report by Garrie O'Toole Alzheimer's Australia Vic.
O'Toole, Garrie (2017) CAUSEd: effective problem solving to support well-being, Australian Journal of Dementia Care, 6(1), p.15-16

Education

Understanding changed behaviours: online learning / Dementia Training Australia
Increase your knowledge of caring for a person experiencing dementia-related changed behaviours and explore how people with dementia may express their needs through behaviour, rather than words.
D-Esc: Virtual Reality De-escalation Training / Dementia Australia
D-Esc is a Dementia Australia workshop that provides virtual reality (VR) de-escalation training for a behavioural emergency, designed for staff caring for people living with dementia. This course combines VR experiences with engaging discussions and classroom learning over a 3-hour session. By integrating cutting-edge technology with traditional interactive methods, participants gain deep insights and practical knowledge in a balanced and dynamic learning environment.
Caring for People Who Wander
Carers of people with dementia who wander and live in the community have reported that they experience anxiety and burden associated with the fear that the person with dementia could become lost or injured while walking independently. Dementia Training Australia (DTA) has this free online training for carers of people living with dementia.

Resources

Understanding changed behaviour: A guide for people with dementia and their family
Alzheimer's New Zealand has developed this booklet to provide information on some common changed behaviours and challenges you may encounter as you support someone with dementia. It includes information about what might be causing the behaviour and some tips to help you support the person with dementia to live well.
Loss of motivation in dementia: A guide for carers
This guide aims to provide simple strategies for improving engagement and quality of life for people living with dementia who are experiencing anhedonia (loss of motivation).
Disinhibited behaviours and dementia - Online Symposium
Presented by Dementia Training Australia (DTA) this recording provides information about disinhibited behaviours which are actions that may seem tactless, rude, or even offensive. They occur when a person’s words and/or actions don’t follow the generally understood social rules about what or where to say or do something.