Topic guides: Personal Care: Content

Gallery

Dementia Australia resources

Dementia Friendly Dental Care, presented by Kopal Sinha
In this video we are joined by Kopal Sinha, a Dementia Australia Counsellor and previously qualified Dentist who practiced in India. Kopal will explain the impacts a diagnosis of dementia can have on dental hygiene and the benefits of maintaining a healthy dental routine. The video also provides information on how a carer may assist a person with dementia to brush their teeth.

Continence
This page explains incontinence and some of the reasons that it may occur in people with dementia. It suggests ways that families and carers can manage the problem.
Dental care
Information about caring for the dental health of people with dementia. It discusses some of the possible causes of dental problems as well as practical advice for maintaining the best possible dental health.
Dressing
This information explains some of the problems that people with dementia may have when dressing. It offers families and carers a number of practical suggestions for managing these common problems.
Eating
This page provides a number of practical strategies for people caring for someone with dementia who is having problems eating.
Hygiene
This information looks at the issue of hygiene for people with dementia. It discusses some of the possible causes of problems, as well as suggestions to help families and carers manage bathing, shaving, dental, hair and nail care.
Nutrition
Discusses the importance of good nutrition, and provides some practical ways that families and carers can ensure that a person with dementia is well nourished.
Sleeping
This page discusses some of the causes of sleeping problems and provides some suggestions for families and carers to help manage this common, yet difficult problem.

Books

Bathing Without a Battle by Ann Louise Barrick
Presents an individualised, problem-solving approach to bathing and personal care of individuals with dementia.Includes strategies and techniques that work in both institution and home settings. Their approach is appropriate for caregiving activities other than bathing, such as morning and evening care, and for frail elders not suffering from dementia. topics include; Pain; Skin care; Determining the appropriate level of assistance; Transfers ;The environment
The Pocket Guide to Mouth and Dental Hygiene in Dementia Care by Daniel Nightingale
Publication Date: 2020
The dental needs of people living with dementia are often overlooked, particularly in the care home and hospital community. It is challenging to maintain good standards of oral care with people living with dementia, and poor care can increase the fear and anxiety levels of those living with dementia.
This pocket guide sets out tailored advice for supporting the oral and dental needs of people living with dementia. It sets out straightforward models on providing effective preventative mouth care, spotting symptoms and what to do when problems occur.
Practical Nutrition and Hydration for Dementia Friendly Mealtimes by Lee Martin
Publication Date: 2019
This research-informed book explains how to make the most of mealtimes for increased nutritional intake, socialising, and food enjoyment. The book covers topics such as the physical act of eating and drinking and creating a comfortable and friendly dining environment.
Dental care for people with dementia by Teepa Snow
Publication Date: 2012
Watching this DVD you will learn about causes for common dental care issues and how to overcome them - why people with dementia are likely to react negatively to common oral care procedures and about techniques and tools to adapt oral care techniques to increase cooperation and improve dental care results.
It's Saturday night (2005) by Jolene Brackey
Publication Date: 2005
People with dementia have genuine, valid reasons for disliking the bath process. In this DVD, Jolene explores those fears and hesitations so you can improve the bathing time. Not because the person has changed, but because we have changed. When we answer the questions of when, where, and how the person has always taken a bath, "Saturday night baths" will become better.

Video content

Resources

Dementia and personal hygiene - Dementia UK
As a dementia progresses, many people struggle with their personal hygiene. Here, you can read advice on supporting a person with dementia with personal care. Topics covered include: challenges in personal hygiene, washing, cutting and cleaning nails, washing and cutting hair, shaving, dressing and cleanliness, periods, and young carers and personal care.
Understanding distress during personal care helpsheet - Dement Support Australia
Distress during personal care covers any changes seen during someone’s personal care routine. This broad definition relates to everything from brushing one’s teeth or going to the toilet to having a shower/bath and getting dressed. Signs of distress may include shouting in pain or discomfort, freezing or curling up, scratching, or having trouble communicating. The helpsheet has been created in collaboration with Professor Sue Kurrle, Geriatrician, to assist carers and health care professionals to better identify and respond to the behaviours of someone experiencing distress during personal care.
18 Tips for Helping Someone With Dementia Shower or Bathe - Very well health
One of the challenges in caring for someone with Alzheimer's disease or another kind of dementia can be bath (or shower) time. Although some people with dementia don't mind it, others are fearful and extremely resistive. This tip sheet examines: causes of challenging behaviours in bathing, tips to Improve bath time, and safety tips.
10 Tips for Helping Someone With Dementia Get Dressed - Alzheimer's Society UK
This information for carers contains tips for helping a person with dementia to dress and advice on how to make dressing a positive experience for them and for you.
Tips for helping someone with dementia with continence - Continence Health Australia
In this series of six short videos, Nurse Continence Specialist Anita Francis discusses some considerations and practical tips when caring for someone with dementia.
8 practical tips to help someone with Dementia to eat more - age space
People living with Alzheimer’s or dementia often eat less than they used to. Reasons for this may include problems with chewing, swallowing or digesting food. Compiled here are 8 practical tips for helping someone with dementia to eat more. Sometimes people just lose interest in food. This can happen for many reasons including loss of taste, the ability to smell, memory loss, and thinking they have already eaten. Certain medications can also affect appetite.

Join the library

To borrow any resources please join the library.

For library information and support please contact library@dementia.org.au or call 03 9816 5790